The Roux Scholarship 2016 reveals this year's six finalists

The Staff Canteen

The Roux Scholarship 2016 finalists were announced yesterday after two tense regional finals at University College Birmingham and the University of West London, Ealing.

The six chefs include Ben Champkin from Simon Rogan's L'Enclume, Simon has employed four Roux Scholarship winners telling The Staff Canteen last year: "Some of the dishes they have to cook for the scholarship I think ‘blimey’ I wouldn’t want to attempt them – they look really, really hard. They don’t make it easy and the person who wins is a worthy winner.”

rouxMichel Roux Jr, who judged at the regional finals said: "We have two very strong finalists going through from Birmingham this year. A dessert can make or break a dish. We had two excellent desserts - well executed, beautiful custards and moist cake."

Alain Roux said: "I could tell the chefs in London had worked really hard and practiced and it showed in the quality of the main courses we tasted. There were a wide variety of different techniques used, one or two a bit too complex and I would have liked the mushroom element to stand out more in the flavour of the dishes. After comparing notes with my cousin I think we've chosen six great contenders for an exciting final!"

>>> Read: Rogan’s Roux Scholarship winners

Yesterday 18 regional finalists battled it out for a place in the final of the prestigious competition and the six finalists are: Ben Champkin, L'Enclume, Cartmel, Cumbria Harry Guy, Eden Hotel Collection, Stratford-Upon-Avon, Warwickshire Paul Matthews, Fieldfisher (Vacherin), London Scott Dineen, Goldman Sachs (BaxterStorey), London Tim Peirson, Kensington Place, Kensington Church St, London Martin Carabott, the Royal Automobile Club, Pall Mall, London

They will now go through to the national final on April 4, which takes place at Westminster Kingsway College, London. The 2016 Roux Scholar will be announced at an awards ceremony held at the Mandarin Oriental, Hyde Park, London the same evening. This year’s challenge saw the regional finalists create a recipe to serve four people using one whole fresh pollock, live whole cockles; together served plated and accompanied by two garnishes. Competitors had two-and-a-half hours to cook their dish, along with a dessert from a mystery box of ingredients given to them on the day. The judges this year included Michel Roux Jr, Andre Garrett, Steve Love, Simon Hulstone and Andrew Fairlie.

>>> More about the Roux Scholarship 2016 here 

In these challenging times…

The Staff Canteen team are taking a different approach to keeping our website independent and delivering content free from commercial influence. Our Editorial team have a critical role to play in informing and supporting our audience in a balanced way. We would never put up a paywall and restrict access – The Staff Canteen is open to all and we want to keep bringing you the content you want; more from younger chefs, more on mental health, more tips and industry knowledge, more recipes and more videos. We need your support right now, more than ever, to keep The Staff Canteen active. Without your financial contributions this would not be possible.

Over the last 12 years, The Staff Canteen has built what has become the go-to platform for chefs and hospitality professionals. As members and visitors, your daily support has made The Staff Canteen what it is today. Our features and videos from the world’s biggest name chefs are something we are proud of. We have over 500,000 followers across Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and other social channels, each connecting with chefs across the world. Our editorial and social media team are creating and delivering engaging content every day, to support you and the whole sector - we want to do more for you.

A single coffee is more than £2, a beer is £4.50 and a large glass of wine can be £6 or more.

Support The Staff Canteen from as little as £1 today. Thank you.

The Staff Canteen

The Staff Canteen

Editor 18th March 2016

The Roux Scholarship 2016 reveals this year's six finalists