VIDEO: Simon Rogan is the new Chef of the Year and four restaurants receive five rosettes in the AA Restaurant Guide 2017

The Staff Canteen

Simon Rogan is the new Chef of the Year and four new restaurants including Casamia receive five rosettes in the AA Restaurant Guide 2017.

The announcement of the new ratings was made at the AA Restaurant Guide Hospitality Awards on September 26, held at Grovesnor House on Park Lane; alongside 24 other awards which recognised those in the industry.

This year Simon Rogan won the coveted AA Restaurant Guide  Chef of the year and four restaurants; Casamia, Pollen Street Social, Restaurant Story and Hélène Darroze at The Connaught received the prestigious five rosettes.

Simon Rogan said: "It's amazing to be awarded this from this room of talent. It's an award I'll cherish for the rest of my life."

For the first time four restaurants were awarded five rosettes including Casamia and Peter Sanchez-Iglesias told The Staff Canteen: "This is a life time achievement, you start with one rosette and to reach five is the pinnacle - to get there is the dream.

"I came to the AA Awards with Jonray for so many years, he would have loved to be here now but he is here in spirit and he would be so proud. This is dedicated to him."

Pierre Koffman won the Lifetime Achievement award celebrating his 50th year in the industry.

The new Five Rosette restaurants are:

Hélène Darroze at The Connaught, London
Casamia Restaurant, Bristol
Restaurant Story, London
Pollen Street Social, London

The new Four Rosette restaurants are:

The Whitebrook, Whitebrook
Winteringham Fields, Winteringham
Number One The Balmoral, Edinburgh
Hampton Manor, Solihull
Paul Ainsworth at No 6, Padstow
Orwells, Henley-on-Thames

AA Hotel of the Year

Introduced in 1992, and awarded to hotels that are recognised as being outstanding examples in their particular market.

AA Hotel of the Year for England (sponsored by Temple Spa) – Northcote, Langho

AA Hotel of the Year for Wales –  The Angel Hotel, Abergavenny

AA Hotel of the Year for Scotland (sponsored by ReviewPro)– Cromlix Hotel, Dunblane

AA Hotel of the Year for London (sponsored by PSL) – The Beaumont

AA Hotel of the Year for Northern Ireland – Manor House Country Hotel, Enniskillen

AA Restaurant of the Year

While the standard of cuisine is at the very heart of the selection criteria for these awards, innovation, ambience, and hospitality are all part of the equation that determines the eventual winners.

AA Restaurant of the Year for England –  Lumière, Cheltenham

AA Restaurant of the Year for Wales – Restaurant James Sommerin, Penarth

AA Restaurant of the Year for Scotland – Inver Restaurant, Strachur

AA Restaurant of the Year for London (sponsored by Food & Travel Magazine) – Sosharu, London

AA Wine Award (sponsored by Matthew Clark)

Nominees are judged on the quality of their wine list and their ability to inspire customers to make wider and more adventurous choices.

AA Wine Award for England and Overall Winner – Sketch (Lecture Room and Library), London

AA Wine Award for Scotland – The Kitchin, Edinburgh

AA Wine Award for Wales – The Whitebrook, Whitebrook

AA Pub of the Year

Combining the provision of enjoyable food, a great pub atmosphere, and a warm welcome with a high standard of management

AA Pub of the Year for England (sponsored by Cobra)–  The Boot, Repton

AA Pub of the Year for Wales – Penhelig Arms, Aberdyfi

AA Pub of the Year for Scotland – The Ship Inn, Elie

AA Hotel Group of the Year

A hugely prestigious award presented in recognition of the hotel group that has a proven track record of striving to ensure the very best levels of service, food and accommodation across the range of properties. Attention to detail is imperative and a committed and structured approach to future development is essential.

Winner – Thwaites Shire Hotels

AA Eco Hotel and Eco Hotel Group of the Year

These awards recognise a clear commitment to sustainability, demonstrated through good practice and policy to make a positive contribution to reducing impact on the environment

Winner AA Eco Hotel (sponsored by Belu) – Battlesteads Hotel, Hexham

Winner AA Eco Hotel Group (sponsored by Chargemaster) – AccorHotels

AA Food Service Award

The AA Food Service Award recognises establishments who not only deliver excellent standards of restaurant service and hospitality but also have technical service skills, food and beverage knowledge of the highest standard and a clear commitment to staff training and development.

Winner – The Ritz London

AA Housekeeper of the Year Award (sponsored by Aslotel)

The award recognises outstanding commitment and performance, identifying a Housekeeper who goes above and beyond the call of duty.

Winner –  Nan McDowall, Crewe Hall, Crewe

AA College Restaurant Award (sponsored by People 1st)

The College Restaurant of the Year Award has been developed in conjunction with our partner, People 1st, the leading workforce development expert for the hospitality, tourism, travel, passenger-transport and retail industries.  The AA College Rosette Scheme was designed to recognise the efforts of students, both front and back of house who are the future of our hospitality industry.  Colleges within the AA College Rosette Scheme that have shown outstanding achievements in a realistic working environment have been put forward for the AA College Restaurant of the Year Award.

Winner – Foxholes Restaurant, Runshaw College

In these challenging times…

The Staff Canteen team are taking a different approach to keeping our website independent and delivering content free from commercial influence. Our Editorial team have a critical role to play in informing and supporting our audience in a balanced way. We would never put up a paywall and restrict access – The Staff Canteen is open to all and we want to keep bringing you the content you want; more from younger chefs, more on mental health, more tips and industry knowledge, more recipes and more videos. We need your support right now, more than ever, to keep The Staff Canteen active. Without your financial contributions this would not be possible.

Over the last 12 years, The Staff Canteen has built what has become the go-to platform for chefs and hospitality professionals. As members and visitors, your daily support has made The Staff Canteen what it is today. Our features and videos from the world’s biggest name chefs are something we are proud of. We have over 500,000 followers across Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and other social channels, each connecting with chefs across the world. Our editorial and social media team are creating and delivering engaging content every day, to support you and the whole sector - we want to do more for you.

A single coffee is more than £2, a beer is £4.50 and a large glass of wine can be £6 or more.

Support The Staff Canteen from as little as £1 today. Thank you.

The Staff Canteen

The Staff Canteen

Editor 27th September 2016

VIDEO: Simon Rogan is the new Chef of the Year and four restaurants receive five rosettes in the AA Restaurant Guide 2017