First LACA School Chef of the Year 2023 reginal finalist announced

Sarah Robinson

Sarah Robinson

Other 17th April 2023
Sarah Robinson

First LACA School Chef of the Year 2023 reginal finalist announced

Jennifer Brown, of Sarum Academy, part of Atalian Servest has won the first regional heat of the 2023 LACA School Chef of the Year (SCOTY) competition.

She won the South West Region heat, which was held today at Weston College, Weston Super Mare and judged by Chair of Judges Louise Wagstaffe of Premier Foods, Sharon Armstrong of LACA UK and Stuart Brereton of MKN UK.

 Jennifer wowed the judges with her main course of ‘In fine fettle fish supper’, including a baked pollock and spinach fishcake, sweet potato fries and crushed minted peas with a tangy curry sauce dip. Her winning dessert was delicious golden banoffee profiteroles, for which her choux buns were filled with butterscotch and banana, drizzled with chocolate sauce and banana dust.

 LACA Chair Brad Pearce comments. “What a fantastic start to the 2023 SCOTY competition. Each year the standard gets higher and higher and its truly exciting to see the talent and skills of school chefs on show.”

 Sponsor Sarah Robb, marketing manager, Premier Foods Foodservice adds. “It’s great to see the regional finals get underway and we love this time of year as it gives us chance to shout about all the incredible talent that is out there in the education catering sector. With Bisto sponsoring the competition we love to see the innovative ways the chefs are using our products. Congratulations to Jennifer Brown, the first finalist who really impressed the judges today. Good luck to the chefs who are competing over the next few weeks.”

Jennifer will go on to join the other regional finalists at the National final which will be held at the LACA Main Event on Wednesday 5th and Thursday 6th July at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole. The overall winner will be announced on the evening of Thursday 6th July.

The prestigious school chef competition, School Chef of the Year (SCOTY), is run by LACA, the School Food People and sponsored by Bisto, from Premier Foods. The competition attracts some of the very best school chef talent from across the country.

LACA – the school food people, was established in 1990 and is the leading professional body representing over 1,000 members drawn from across the school food sector representing public sector and private contract caterers and suppliers to schools, academies, and MATs across the UK.

The LACA School Chef of the Year is now in its 29th year and has drawn national attention with the annual winners often appearing on TV to showcase school cooking.

In these challenging times…

The Staff Canteen team are taking a different approach to keeping our website independent and delivering content free from commercial influence. Our Editorial team have a critical role to play in informing and supporting our audience in a balanced way. We would never put up a paywall  – The Staff Canteen is open to all and we want to keep bringing you the content you want; more from younger chefs, more on mental health, more tips and industry knowledge, more recipes and more videos. We need your support right now, more than ever, to keep The Staff Canteen active. Without your financial contributions this would not be possible.

Over the last 16 years, The Staff Canteen has built what has become the go-to platform for chefs and hospitality professionals. As members and visitors, your daily support has made The Staff Canteen what it is today. Our features and videos from the world’s biggest name chefs are something we are proud of. We have over 560,000 followers across Facebook, X, Instagram, YouTube and other social channels, each connecting with chefs across the world. Our editorial and social media team are creating and delivering engaging content every day, to support you and the whole sector - we want to do more for you.

A single coffee is more than £2, a beer is £4.50 and a large glass of wine can be £6 or more.

Support The Staff Canteen from as little as £1 today. Thank you.