Nominations Open for the 5th Edition of the Basque Culinary World Prize

Basque Culinary World Prize

Basque Culinary World Prize

Other 20th February 2020

Nominations Open for the 5th Edition of the Basque Culinary World Prize

Gastronomic professionals and institutions have until May 4th to nominate chefs for the €100,000 prize– awarded to a chef who has had a transformative impact "beyond the kitchen".

Now in its fifth year, the prize celebrates the impact gastronomy can have when chefs use their creativity, knowledge, leadership and entrepreneurialism to generate change within society.

An interdisciplinary jury, made up of some of the most influential chefs in the world, selects the winner together with academics and international experts. Every year they choose a chef whose work embodies the ethos of the prize: to transform society through gastronomy. The winner will receive 100,000 euros, which they will devote to an initiative of their choice that expresses the transformative power of gastronomy.

Nominations Open:

Gastronomic professionals and institutions have until May 4th – less than 90 days– to nominate chefs that demonstrate how gastronomy can become an engine of change. Nominations must be made through the Basque Culinary World Prize website:

The Basque Culinary World Prize appeals to the collective knowledge of the gastronomic community to discover culinary professionals throughout the world who are transforming society. The award is open to anyone with a professional background in cooking– regardless of their culinary culture, nationality, fame or notoriety.

Nomination Process

At the closing of the nominations period, the candidates will be evaluated and ten finalists will be chosen by a technical committee, made up of leading academic and culinary experts.

The Basque Culinary World Prize winner will be selected from the ten finalists by the Prize Jury at the tenth annual meeting of the Basque Culinary Center International Council. Two-Michelin star chef and Prize Jury member, Yoshihiro Narisawa, will host this year’s winner announcement in Tokyo, Japan in September. This year’s jury will be chaired by Joan Roca and will include celebrated chefs such as Andoni Luis Aduriz (Basque Country), Eneko Atxa (Basque Country), Massimo Bottura (Italy), Manu Buffara (Brazil), Dominique Crenn (USA), Trine Hahnemann (Denmark), Yoshihiro Narisawa (Japan), and Enrique Olvera (Mexico).

In these challenging times…

…the hospitality landscape has dramatically changed in the last two months, and with that our advertising revenues have all but expired, significantly impacting our business. Despite having to furlough a large portion of our staff, we are still delivering the valuable content and honest information, which hundreds of thousands of you come to The Staff Canteen for. We believe we have a critical role to play in informing and supporting our audience. We need your support right now, more than ever, to keep The Staff Canteen active. Without your financial contributions this would not be possible.

Over the last 12 years, The Staff Canteen has built what has become the go-to platform for chefs and hospitality professionals. As members and visitors, your daily support has made The Staff Canteen what it is today. Our features and videos from the world’s biggest name chefs, are something we are proud of. We have over 500,000 followers across Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and other social channels, each connecting with chefs across the world. Our editorial and social media team are creating and delivering engaging content every day, to support you and the whole sector.

Your financial support means we remain independent and open to all. We were launched by a chef and remain the voice of chefs and other hospitality professionals.

We need your support to keep delivering the products and content that you love, giving you the platform to share opinions and inspiration. Every contribution whether big or small, means so much.
Support The Staff Canteen from as little as £1 today. Thank you