Hotelympia 2014’s Innovation Awards Finalists Revealed

The Staff Canteen

Groundbreaking new products in hospitality have been unveiled as Hotelympia’s Innovation Awards reach the final furlong.

Products in the categories of Tabletop & Design, Catering Equipment, Food & Drink and Technology will now go head-to-head on day one of the show (28th April 2014), with delegates pitching behind-closed-doors to Hotelympia’s Innovation Idols in a nail-biting finale where only four will emerge victorious.

2014 Innovation Idols include

  • Nick Sandler, creative chef for Pret A Manger.
  • Vanessa Brady, President of SBID.
  • Adam Marshall, Chief executive of Grand Union.
  • Professor David Russell and David Bentley, from The Russell Partnership.
  • Cyrus Todiwala OBE, restaurateur and chef.
  • Hayden Groves, 2013 National Chef of the Year.
  • Morgaine Gaye, Food futurologist.
  • Jody Scheckter of Laverstoke Park Farm.

Toby Wand, Managing Director at Fresh Montgomery, said: “As the Innovation Awards return, we feel that not only have we uncovered the brightest new innovations in the hospitality world, but raised the bar yet again in terms of product quality and new ideas.” Equipment Finalists:

  • Adande Refrigeration with ‘Adande Matchbox’.
  • Foodservice Equipment Marketing’s ‘Alto-Shaam Combitherm CT Express’.
  • Manitowoc Foodservice with its ‘Multiplex Blend-In-Cup™ Workstation’.
  • Winterhalter ‘UK DeMatik’.
  • Hobart’s ‘FTPi’ warewasher.
  • Valentine Equipment Limited’s – ‘i-stockpot’.
  • Dawson Foodservice Equipment with ‘Lainox Naboo’.

Food & Drink Finalists:

  • Ico Catering with ‘Balgo Honey Spoon’.
  • James White Drinks with ‘Beet It Sport flapjack’.
  • DJM Food Solutions with ‘Cedar Bay Maple & Hickory Plank Salmon’.
  • Honeybuns with ‘Honeybuns Cake’ mix.
  • Love Taste Co’s ‘Love Fruitease’ drink.
  • Vegware’s ‘PLA wine goblet’.

Technology Finalists:

  • Airwave Europe’s ‘Fingi’.
  • Airgoo with ‘Geoffrey’.
  • Orderella with ‘Orderella’.
  • Jamix’s ‘Techef In-Touch’.
  • TenderOne Bar Services Limited with its ‘TenderOne’.
  • Winnow Solutions with ‘Winnow System’.

Design & Tabletop Finalists:

  • EveryWare Global’s ‘White Dot Anti-Scratch System’.
  • Maffam Freeform with ‘Manu Nest Hanging Chair’.
  • Merlin Buffet Systems’ ‘Paper Slate’.
  • StableTable’s ‘Flip Top’.
  • Dornbracht Group’s ‘Alape ASystem Init’.
  • IHS Global Alliance with ‘Showcase’ and ‘Z-Rack’.

Visitors can go to and register now for a free ticket to Hotelympia saving the £25 entrance fee. @Hotelympia

In these challenging times…

The Staff Canteen team are taking a different approach to keeping our website independent and delivering content free from commercial influence. Our Editorial team have a critical role to play in informing and supporting our audience in a balanced way. We would never put up a paywall and restrict access – The Staff Canteen is open to all and we want to keep bringing you the content you want; more from younger chefs, more on mental health, more tips and industry knowledge, more recipes and more videos. We need your support right now, more than ever, to keep The Staff Canteen active. Without your financial contributions this would not be possible.

Over the last 12 years, The Staff Canteen has built what has become the go-to platform for chefs and hospitality professionals. As members and visitors, your daily support has made The Staff Canteen what it is today. Our features and videos from the world’s biggest name chefs are something we are proud of. We have over 500,000 followers across Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube and other social channels, each connecting with chefs across the world. Our editorial and social media team are creating and delivering engaging content every day, to support you and the whole sector - we want to do more for you.

A single coffee is more than £2, a beer is £4.50 and a large glass of wine can be £6 or more.

Support The Staff Canteen from as little as £1 today. Thank you.

The Staff Canteen

The Staff Canteen

Editor 27th March 2014

Hotelympia 2014’s Innovation Awards Finalists Revealed